collapse

Author Topic: Deicing roofs??  (Read 12851 times)

Offline sonic340

• Forum Member
Deicing roofs??
« on: Wed February 24, 2010, 10:12:44 PM »
OK, this may sound stupid, but I have a question.  I was thinking of trying some deicing/anti-icing with my hydro next winter and it got me thinking about all these ice jams and snow loads on commercial roofs around here.  I'm in ND and there have been companies shoveling snow from roofs and using manlifts and whatnot to remove snow and ice.  Has anyone used liquids to try and solve this problem?  I'm also a commercial pilot and having been deiced with the airlines it got me thinking about trying this process or perhaps using heated fluid/water mix like the way they deice airplanes and trying to get it to slide right off.

I know it probably sounds like a dumb idea but just wondering guys.  Thanks for any input.

Offline Ultimate

• Forum Member
  • Finn Titan-330, Serving PA, OH, WV
Re: Deicing roofs??
« Reply #1 on: Thu February 25, 2010, 12:38:32 AM »
Don't know anything about using a hydroseeder for deicing roofs. but I have some experience as to using a ground thaw unit to melt the snow off of a third story roof that was endanger of collapsing with the help of my lift truck.  The money was great and the customer was happy to keep his roof in place.  I tried to upload a picture of the process with no success.  Good Luck in your new adventure!
Ultimate Landscaping, LLC
www.ultimatelandscapingllc.com

Offline Turboguy

• Administrator
  • Forum Legend
  • Beaver Falls, PA
    • Turbo Turf HydroSeeding Systems
« Reply #2 on: Thu February 25, 2010, 06:30:04 AM »
That is an interesting thought.  Most years that has not been a big problem here but these past storms are a little different.  We have lots of roof damage around here, lots of trees down, and lots of gutters hanging or laying where they should not be.